Every 4 years, local elections are held to fill the 16 seats on Stowmarket Town Council. Details of the Town Councillors elected to serve for the period May 2019 to May 2023 are shown below.

The political composition of the Town Council at present is 5 Conservative, 4 Green, 3 Labour, 3 Liberal Democrats and 1 Independent.

Town Councillors are passionate about the town and local community and devote many hours to fulfilling their duties without receiving any payment for doing so.

The wards of Stowmarket

Stowmarket is divided into six wards with elected Councillors, as follows:

St Peter’s Ward North

Councillor Paul Ekpenyong

St Peter’s Ward South

Councillor Lesley Mayes

To find out which ward you live in, a map of Stowmarket is shown with more detailed maps of each ward available on the links below:

Map of Stowmarket wards

Chilton North
Chilton South
Combs Ford
St Peter’s North
St Peter’s South
Stow Thorney

Election Results

The last set of election results from May 2019 are available on the Babergh Mid Suffolk District Council website.